New Admission Open (2024 - 2025)
Apply Now

Governing Body

Functions and Responsibilities

Governing Council shall have powers to function subject to the existing provision in the bye-laws of Vignana Jyothi and rules lay down by the state government/ affiliated university. The following are the functions of Governing Council:

  • Evolves the Vision, Mission and Objectives of the College and ensures that they are achieved
  • Ensures Total Academic and Administrative Autonomies for achieving Short Term and Long Term objectives of the Institute.
  • Governing Council makes all policy decisions ( Autonomous Institute Policy, Quality Policy, HR Policy, Admission Policy, Administration Policy, Finance Manual, Alumni Manual, IT Policy, Globalisation Policy, Innovation & Incubation Policy and Patent Policy etc.) regarding courses to be offered, recruitment of staff, service conditions of teaching and non-teaching staff, conduct of staff and student’s academic and non- academic activities, also it ensures that they are periodically updated
  • Approves the curriculum as recommended by the Academic Council.
  • Approves new programmes of study leading to degree.
  • Approves scholarships, fellowships, studentships, medals, prizes and certificates on the recommendations of the Academic Council. And ensures the adequacy of financial resources for asset management
  • All matters concerning the Academic and Finance Committees are thoroughly discussed and their recommendations/ comments are communicated to the concerned.
  • It administers the physical resources of the Institute.
  • Reviews the performance of the Institute and guide to function effectively to Achieve Excellence in Academics, Research and Industry collaborations.
  • Ensures the Regulatory Compliance of all the decisions by the concerned Authorities like the Principal, HoD and other Officers of the Institute in all matters of fundamental concern.
  • Ratifies and resolves the minutes of Academic Council, Board of Studies, Finance Committee and IQAC
  • Reviews to apply Accreditations of different regulatory bodies (NBA, NAAC, UGC and ABET etc.)
  • Monitors on the effective functioning of different non statutory committees of the college
  • Encourages and gives directions to apply for funds from different funding agencies


S.No. Members (as per UGC Norms) Members Nominated
1 Chairperson Thiru Jansons T.S. Natarajan
President, Sengunthar Charitable Trust
2 Management Member Prof. A. Baladhandapani
Secretary and Correspondent, Sengunthar Charitable Trust
3 Management Member Mr. M.K. Dhanasekaran
Treasurer, Sengunthar Charitable Trust
4 Management Member Mr. T. Shanmugasundaram
Joint Secretary, Sengunthar Charitable Trust
5 Management Member Er. A.B. Madhan
Sengunthar Institutions
6 Management Member Mr. Aravind Thirunavukkarasu
Director, Corporate Relations and Training
Sengunthar Institutions
7 UGC Nominee Prof. M. R. Bhagwan Singh
Professor of Mech. Engg. (Retd.)
B.M.S College of Engineering
Bull Temple Road, Basavangudi, Benguluru
8 State Government Nominee Dr. V. Gopalakrishnan
Professor & Head / EEE & Vice Principal
Government College of Technology, Coimbatore
9 University Nominee Dr. M. Palanikumar
Professor, Department of Civil Engineering
PSG College of Technology, Coimbatore
10 Industrialist Mr. SCB. Santhoshkumar
Managing Director
NVRON Life Science Limited, Coimbatore
11 Academician Dr. N. Kumaresan
Professor , Department of Electrical and Electronics Engineering,
National Institute of Technology, Tiruchirapalli
12 Teachers of the College Dr. K.L. Palanisamy
Dean (Student Affairs) cum Professor and Head
Department of Science and Humanities
13 Teachers of the College Dr. B. Sujatha
Dean (Academics) & Professor
Department of Computer Science and Engineering
14 Principal of the College(Ex – Officio) Dr. R. Satishkumar
Sengunthar Engineering College

Parallax 1